Seavey Takes Second Iditarod Crown Becoming Oldest Iditarod Champ

A champion was crowned in the 2013 Iditarod Sled Dog Race last night, as Sterling’s Mitch Seavey captured his second Iditarod title.

Seavey passed under the burl arch in downtown Nome at 10:39 p.m.; ahead of second-place finisher Aliy Zerkel.

Seavey becomes the oldest winner of the Iditarod, one year after son Dallas won the 2012 Iditarod as the youngest Iditarod champion.

Mitch Seavey was the leader into White Mountain, followed by 2012 runner-up Aliy Zirkle.  Just 13 minutes separated the two mushers into the White Mountain check point.

Categories: News

About Author