Mitch Seavey Wins 2013 Iditarod: Mushers Finish In Nome

The 2013 Iditarod Sled Dog Race crowned a champion just after 10:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 12th, with Mitch Seavey racing to his second Iditarod title.

Seavey passed under the burl arch in downtown Nome at 10:39 p.m.; ahead of second-place finisher Aliy Zerkel.

Seavey’s total time for the race: 9 day, 7 hours, 39 minutes and 56 seconds. 

Seavey becomes the oldest winner of the Iditarod, one year after son Dallas Seavey won the 2012 Iditarod as the youngest Iditarod champion.

Mith Seavey was the leader into White Mountain, followed by 2012 runner-up Aliy Zirkle.  Just 13 minutes separated the two mushers into White Mountain.


2013 Iditarod Top Five

Mitch Seavey

Aliy Zerkel

Jeff King

Dallas Seavey

Ray Reddington Jr.


Click here for the latest on the 2013 Iditarod!

About Author