FAA Names Soldotna Man Certified Flight Instructor of the Year

Two Alaskans have been named 2013 National General Aviation Award winners by the Federal Aviation Administration.

The FAA handed out four national awards this year, recognizing the contributions to the communities made by aviation professionals.

Soldotna’s Dean W. Eichholz was named certified flight instructor of the year. Eicholz founded the Alaska Flying Network, an FAA flight school. He has tested and trained pilots throughout the state.

Mark Madden, a professor of aviation technology at the University of Alaska Anchorage, was named the National FAA Safety Team Representative of the Year.

The FAA Safety team uses training, outreach and education to improve aviation safety throughout the country.

Categories: News

About Author