Dallas Seavey Has Won Iditarod 2014

Dallas Seavey has won the 2014 Iditarod sled dog race at 4:04am setting a new record of 8d 13h 4m 19s


Seavey’s win comes after high winds forced Jeff King to drop out of the race before reaching the Safety checkpoint tonight making way for Aliy Zirkle to unknowingly take the lead.


However, Dallas Seavey took the  lead in the race to Nome after Zirkle stayed in Safety for 2 hours while Seavey only stayed for a few minutes before heading out once again followed by Zirkle’s departure roughly 20 minutes later.


Seavey spoke with our partners at KNOM in Nome earlier and said that the best was yet to come for his young team…


Seavey: “Pretty much the whole way I’ve been kind of holding them back, keeping them down, a number of different ways, trying to keep these guys fresh and strong and position these ten dogs here. So from here, I think this is going to be the first time people actually see what this dog team is made of, and being a very young team, it’s also the first time I’m going to get to see what they’re made of.”


Sen. Lisa Murkowski congratulated Seavey’s win in a press release.


Sen. Murkowski: “Congratulations to Dallas and his team on this historic and hard fought win!”

Categories: News

About Author