Bulldogs Win D-K Conference Wrestling Title

Skyview Third At NLC Tournament

Wrestlers from throughout the Kenai Peninsula competed in conference tournaments, with team and individual titles awarded and state wrestling championships qualifiers determined. Denali-Kachemak Wrestling Tournament The Nikiski Bulldog wrestling team amassed 209 points in-route-to the Denali-Kachemak Conference wrestling team title. The Bulldogs were lead by indivdual champions Morgan Sauve at 119 pounds and Nathan Stangel at 125 pounds. Jayden Tumbaga fell to Stangel and finished as conference runner-up at 125 pounds. Matt Parker (130, Kaden Spurgeon (152) and Henry Eide (285) all recorded a runner-up finishes and will compete for titles at the state championships. Lincoln Johnson (160), Corey Green (135), and Tyler Peek (145) finished third in their classes; Troi West (112) and Josh Brown (130) finished fourth; Trey Zimmerman also qualifies to state with a fifth in the 103 weight class. Nikiski head wrestling coach Adam Anders was named the 2009 Denali-Kachemak Conference Wrestling Coach of the Year. Other state qualifiers from the peninsula include ten Seward Seahawks; five wrestlers from Voznesenka; Matt Gains from Seldovia; and the Klapak brothers, Jeff and Justin from Ninilchik. Northern Lights Conference Wrestling Tournament The Skyview Panthers finished third at the Northern Lights Conference wrestling tournament; behind the champion Colony Knights and Wasilla. Skyview placed five wrestlers into the championship round, recording two individual championships and three runner-up finishes. Austin Tennis lead Skyview, winning the 140-pound weight class and Tennis was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler. Fred Pollard won the 160-pound championship. Jared Thomas (152), Steve Lawson (171), and Nick VanBruggen (189); all recorded conference runner-up finishes. Skyview qualifies 12 to the state tournament, including: Bryce Wilson, third at 119; Hannah Hutchison, fourth at 119; T. Checketts, fourth at 125; Janorschke, sixth at 112; Day, fifth at 140; Rozak, sixth at 152; Mike Eyre, fifth at 215. Skyview’s head wrestling coach Neldon Gardner was named the NLC Coach of the Year. SoHi finished fifth in the team scoring lead by Nathan Streiby’s championship in the 285-pound weight class. Cody Carroll finished second in the 135-pound class. Other state qualifiers include: D. Burlison, fourth at 145; and T. Link fourth at 171. Kenai places two wrestlers into the championship round; Hope Steffensen (103) and Donny Dormady (215) both finish NLC runner-up. Adam Agosti finished fourth at 135 pounds; Aaron Gattenby finished fourth at 189; both advance to the state tournament. Homer’s Mitch Wyatt won a second NLC title, taking the 152-pound weight class.

About Author