Basketball All-Conference Awards Announced; State Brackets Set

Basketball conferences released all-conference team selections as part of their respective awards ceremonies at regional basketball tournaments.  State tournament bids and pairings were also announced leading into a quiet week for high school basketball in preparation for March Madness Alaska.


All-Conference Basketball Teams: Peninsula Conference (1A)

(central peninsula athletes)


MVP: Nicole Moffis ,CIA; Bryce Vickers, Birchwood

1st Team: Nicole Moffis, CIA; Jessica Rogers, Ninilchik; Nianella Dorvall, Nikolaevsk; Sophia Kalugin, Nikolaevsk

2nd Team: Kilina Kliach, Nikolaevsk; Serafima Kalugin, Nikolaevsk; Richelle McGahan, CIA; Jordan Finney, Ninilchik


MVP: Timmy Smithwick ,CIA; Aldan Philpot

1st Team: Timmy Smithwick, CIA; Jaruby Nelson, Nikolaevsk; Neil Gordeev, Nikolaevsk

2nd Team: Austin White, Ninilchik; Tyler Presley, Ninilchik; Mylon Weems, CIA


All-Conference Basketball Teams: South Central Conference (3A)

(central peninsula athletes)


1st Team: Rachel Thompson, Nikiski; Emily Lynch, Nikiski; Alisha Darch, Nikiski; Samantha Reynolds, Skyview

2nd Team: Meghan Powers, Skyview

Coach of the Year: Kyle McFall, Skyview


1st Team:  Jacob Carlson, Skyview; Seth Carstens, Nikiski

2nd Team:  Tim Duke, Skyview


All-Conference Basketball Teams: Northern Lights Conference (4A)

(central peninsula athletes)


1st Team: Julie Litchfield, SoHi; Katelynn Kerkvliet, SoHi

2nd Team: Justice English


1st Team:  Daniel McElroy, SoHi

2nd Team:  Colten Young, SoHi; Trevor Shirnberg, Kenai

Coach of the Year: Matt Johnson, SoHi


ASAA State Basketball Tournament Brackets

Nikolaevsk, CIA, Nikiski and SoHi qualify teams to the 2014 ASAA State Basketball Championships.

All State Tournament Brackets: Click Here!




About Author